STOCKWELL PARK BRIEF HISTORY
Until the early 1800s the area was a few houses built around a village green (now Stockwell Green). In the 1830's Stockwell Park, a suburban development, was laid out in its own roads and became an exclusive early Victorian neighbourhood with many imposing villas. With the coming of the railways, and the opening of Stockwell Underground station in 1890, more working people were attracted and smaller terraced houses and mansion blocks sprang up. Stockwell Gardens Estate was built in the 1930s, and further large council estates - notably the 1950s Studley Estate - following the Blitz. Stockwell now contains a diverse townscape which includes several conservation areas and fine listed buildings such as St Michael's Church (Stockwell Park Road - 1840) and Stockwell Bus Garage (Lansdowne Way - 1954).
The area boasts the most significant typographic collection in the world at the National Museum of Type and Communication (now known as the Type Archive), 100 Hackford Road. This living museum was founded in 1991 and houses examples of the art and craft of typography from the last 500 years.
Stockwell has a variety of cafes, bars and other businesses owned by Portuguese members of the community, over time resulting in the locally known area of Little Portugal. This is unique in London.
The Stockwell Park Conservation Area (SPRA) was created in 1973 and was the third conservation area to be created in Lambeth. In the same year the residents' association was formed. The current Conservation Area Statement is available here.
There is more information about Stockwell's history here.